Certification of design (Section 6 - Energy) in domestic buildings

There are two scheme providers for energy design for domestic dwellings. For further details of the BRE scheme click here. Further details of the RIAS scheme are below.

RIAS are a scheme provider for the Energy Certification of Domestic Buildings in Scotland. These certification schemes are approved by Scottish Ministers to allow Approved Certifiers to prove that a building meets the energy standards and ensures new buildings are energy efficient with lower carbon emissions.

A building owner or developer may use a certificate of design to support an application for building warrant.

Individuals who want to join the scheme

Membership of RIAS-Energy Design Certification Scheme is open to those who are:
  • Registered with the Architects Registration Board (ARB), or
  • A Chartered (MCIAT) or Technician (TCIAT) Member of the Chartered Institute or Architectural Technologists (CIAT), and
  • Other Construction Professionals who have suitable experience, qualifications and expertise

The first step to becoming Approved Certifier of Design of Section 6 (Domestic) is to register your interest online by using the Register For Membership link within the RIAS website.

Membership Criteria and Routes to Membership guidance can be downloaded using the following link: Membership Criteria (PDF format)

Contact RIAS

Scheme Administrator
15 Rutland Square
Telephone: 0131 229 7545
Fax: 0131 228 2188
Email: [email protected]
Web: www.rias.org.uk and www.rias-regs.co.uk